Friday night I had the absolute joy of cooking mussels from The Whalesbone Sustainable Oyster and Fish Supply. I normally make mussels when I’m in a hurry or want something fun that my daughter can eat with her hands, which is often enough to know that the mussels I bought from The Whalesbone were the most delicious, plump juicy mussels I have eaten in a long time. Honestly I don’t think I have had mussels this good since I was 16 in Belgium with my Grandmother.  

I will save my talk about how wonderful The Whalesbone is for another day -I am in the process of interviewing owner Joshua Bishop for a later post. For now I will just leave you with the recipe. A recipe I might add that had my daughter seeking out not only extra mussels, but also any left over onions that cooked with them.  

Quick & Simple Mussels  

1 lb sustainable mussels from The Whalesbone, cleaned
Enough liquid to cover the mussels (this time I used water but it is lovely if you use broth, wine or beer. Try to stay away from very sweet liquid).
4 sprigs of fresh thyme
2 medium onions, peeled and cut into quarters
1 TSP Salt
A generous amount of black pepper (roughly 1 TSP)  

Add all ingredients to a large pot. Bring to a boil over medium high heat. Turn heat down until liquid is just simmering. Cook mussels until they open – watch out this happens very quickly! Remove from liquid with slotted spoon and serve right away with an empty bowl to collect all the shells.  

If you wish you can garnish with fresh parsley.  

