Wow – an award. I’m flabbergasted. That’s the only word I can use to describe this feeling. And the fact that it comes from someone who’s own blog I read regularly and am always quiet jealous of how well it is written, is icing on the cake! Rachelle Eats food – http://rachelleeatsfood.blogspot.com/ – is an amazing blog with beautiful photos that makes me want to… well… eat. Which is just what she is trying to do. Rachelle loves to eat and it is contagious.

This award comes with a couple of strings attached – so here are the rules:

1. You must thank the person who has given you the award.
2. Copy the award logo and place it on your blog.  
3. Link the person who has nominated you for the award.
4. Name 7 things about yourself that people might find interesting.
5. Nominate 7 other Kreativ Bloggers.
6. Post links to the 7 blogs you nominate.
7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs to let them know they have been nominated.

On to the harder stuff.

Seven things people might find interesting. I guess that depends on your definition of interesting.

– I really started to cook in University. Not so much for myself, but for a ritual my friends and I called ‘Tuesday night suppers’ where we would take turns hosting each other in our apartments, sharing a great meal and watching Grey’s Anatomy – back when that show was good. That was the beginning of my foodie spark – a spark which has since turned into a 4 alarm fire thanks to the ongoing encouragement from the ladies of 345 Laurier Ave (with special guest Ali who didn’t live in the building but would frequent our dinners).   

– My husband and stepdaughter are the reason I continue to cook. When left to cook for only myself I have been known to eat pasta with cheese melted on it; macaroni, mayo and tuna mixed together or simply drink so much tea that I’m not hungry anymore.

– My day job is working in communications and social media for a program that helps new Canadians make friends and adjust to their new lives in our country.

–  I love to travel. And the first thing I do when planning a new trip is research cuisine and restaurants – a girl has got to eat!

– Ottawa was not supposed to be my forever home, but I met a boy and fell in love and have never looked back since.

– My dream is to own a farm where I can raise and grow all my own food. Including maple syrup trees, bee hives and mill where I could make my own flour. I never said it was an attainable dream.

– I enjoy seeing how eating habits have evolved through the generations of my family and I am really excited to see what my children eat like when they grow up. Like a food history project.

I will start by saying that a lot of the blogs I love have already been given this award so I’m going to use this opportunity to talk about some others.

And the nominees are…

1. A little bit of Momsense – http://alittlebitofmomsense.blogspot.com/  – Rebecca is a talented writer and mom who shares the ups and downs of her days in a way that makes me feel like I’m sitting down and talking to a friend. She also just recently decided to focus her Friday postings on healthy eating as inspired by one of my personal heroes Jamie Oliver.   

2. Bridgehead – http://bridgehead.wordpress.com/ – I love their coffee shops and I love their blog. Bridgehead’s commitment to improving our world is evident in this blog. Here they talk about their plans for Earth Hour, how they contributed to relief efforts in Haiti, and commitment to fair trade products.

3. Media Style – http://www.mediastyle.ca/category/blog/ – I was first introduced to Ian Capstick via his weekly political debate session on Live 88.5. I’ve since become a follower of his on twitter and a frequent visitor to his blog. Ian talks about communications and politics with a passion I reserve for risotto. He’s also a foodie – maybe that’s why I like him so much.

4. A peak inside the fishbowl – http://www.quietfish.com/notebook/ – a great blog about Ottawa for families. If you are ever wondering about how to spend a weekend with your kids in this great city look no further – Andrea has great suggestions! And an adorable new puppy too.

5. Colour Me Kate – http://colourmekate.blogspot.com/ – New to the blogging world Kate sees the colours of life that many of us miss. She’s a gifted artist and a beautiful wordsmith. She is also one of the most caring and creative individuals I know.

6. Joy the Baker – http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/ – An amazing blog about baking with pictures that make you want to run out and have cake. Joy is a fun, outgoing, creative person and that comes out in her writing. Like her subject, Joy the Baker is a treat!

7. The Nourished Kitchen – http://nourishedkitchen.com/ – learn to cook real food. It’s what I’m all about and the Nourished Kitchen is the blog I strive to have. Amazing content that makes you think while inspiring you to get up and take on the world one meal at a time. Amazing stuff.

Thank you again for this award – you like me. You really, really like me.

And I like you too!

