Thank you so much to Rebecca author of A little Bit of Momsense – http://alittlebitofmomsense.blogspot.com/. Read all about Rebecca’s mom adventures, her attempts at living green and raising her kids. I’ve picked up more than a couple of tips from her – and now have a wonderful interview too. Thanks again Rebecca.

(Simply Fresh) How would you describe your approach to cooking?

(Rebecca) It’s casual, experimental, easy and homey.  Some of my recipes feel like a traditional Sunday dinner that we all grew up with – the kind that really get you around the table as a family.  Others are very ‘date night’ themed and are begging to be paired with a good wine.

I try to have fun with cooking now. Sometimes all I know is what the main dish will be ie) chicken, and the rest of the meal might not come together until I start cooking – throwing ingredients in on the fly.  That’s fun (although it doesn’t always work). 

When I do plan, I go for restaurant presentation, something that I am really proud of and that tastes delicious.  Ultimately, that’s the goal. 

A lot of my recipes can be made quickly or with a little planning – with two kids at my feet, I need those kinds of meals during the week. 

What is your favourite go to recipe when you need a quick, healthy dinner for your family?

I have a couple, but lasagne is hard to beat – everyone will eat it, and it’s hard to find all four food groups in one dish like that! It’s also economical and can feed a crowd.

What are the three most important lessons that you are trying or planning to teach your kids about food and eating?

a)  Try try try – some things they won’t like and that’s okay, but at least be adventurous and try to make sure you aren’t missing out.
b) Healthy isn’t boring, and food doesn’t come from a box.
c) Food appeals to the senses – taste, touch, smell – remember the memories and help me make them in the kitchen.

What was the first recipe you remember making when you were young?

A very simple crepe recipe – it was a 1-1-1-1 ratio. One cup of flour, one cup of milk, 1 egg, 1 tsp vanilla.  Such a simple recipe that was easy to cook.

Recently you have decided to dedicate the next few Fridays on your blog (http://alittlebitofmomsense.blogspot.com/) to healthy eating – what made you decide to start?

For a few years now, we’ve really been focused on healthier eating – I do like my treats, but overall, we’ve tried to educate ourselves by reading labels, cooking more etc.  I’ve been watching Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and I can’t believe some of the things those kids are eating.  But it’s not a complete surprise.  I’ve seen it happen at friends homes, in our schools etc.  So I thought it would be nice to focus on healthy eating, recipes etc. I look forward to doing more with it!

