I have to start this post off by specifying what it is I’m reviewing. The Whalesbone has two locations that do two very separate things. The first is a restaurant on Bank Street that I hope to visit in the very near future. The second is their 504 Kent Street location which in addition to selling sustainable fish products (see interview here) also offer an amazing brown bag lunch. (Open to the public for lunch Thursday to Saturday only). Today I’m reviewing the lunch I had while picking up some Mahi Mahi for that night’s dinner.

Price – Lunch starts around $6 and goes up to $8 depending on the sandwich you choose and the style of fish attached to it. Great price. That only includes the sandwich, for a couple dollars more you can add a beet root salad or ginger cookie – but the sandwich in and of itself is quite filling. The ingredients are well worth the price – more value than a value meal.

Ambiance – You don’t really come here for the surroundings, but I’ll tell you it’s quirky. There is some seating inside near the freezer and next to the record player and now that the warm weather is out there are picnic tables out front. So you guessed it, casual is the name of the game.

Menu Options – very limited and all fish. It changes all the time but if you enjoy fish trust me when I say everything is amazing and you will not be disappointed.

Food – The cod sandwich I had was so amazing it actually changed my entire mood for the rest of the day. Every time I thought about it I smiled. And that is no small feat – not only was I in a horrible mood that day but I’ve also had issues with eating white fish like cod and haddock. I just could not stomach the idea of eating it. Then came this…

Cod and I are on good terms again and I can’t wait for more of it!

Overall – Amazing. The ingredients are not only fresh but sustainable. Ethical and delicious, a winning combination. Though they have a limited menu, everything on it is amazing. 5 out of 5 stars.

