This post comes courtesy of one of my favorite people in the entire world – Katie Greavette. An amazing foodie who at the moment is living much to far away for my liking, Katie tells me that this recipe is fantastic served either hot or cold.

Mint Pea Soup
Butter
1 TBSP oil
2 shallots/onions
1 stem celery
600 mL veggie stock
400 g peas (fresh or frozen)
Salt and pepper to taste
Handful of mint

Melt the butter with the oil in a large saucepan over a medium heat. Add the shallots and celery, season, cover and sweat very gently, without colouring, for 15 minutes or until completely soft.

Add the stock and bring to a gentle simmer, then add the peas and simmer for 10 minutes until the peas are soft. Remove from the heat, add the chopped mint, and purée. Push through a sieve if you want a very smooth finish. Taste and adjust the seasoning.

Optional – garnish with creme fraiche, double cream or yogurt (I don’t really care for this, but I imagine it’s good if you like cream)

Thanks so much Katie! I can’t wait to try it.

