I met a good friend for lunch the other day at the Foolish Chicken. Great company as always – here’s what I found about the restaurant.

Price – Good prices all around. Exactly what you would expect to pay for chicken and ribs at lunch. In fact I believe it’s almost the same price as Ribfest, but with the luck of being available all year! Sandwiches will run you between $10 and $11. 1/4 chicken entrees starting around $10 and a full rack of ribs for $21.

Ambiance – A very cute little place with room for diners upstairs and down. It’s cheery and colourful with lovely staff that are quick to serve and smile. A really fun atmosphere for get-togethers, meeting friends or just enjoying a lunch with coworkers.

Menu Options – A perfect lunch sized menu with many options for all. I was especially impressed with the amount of gluten free options available. Vegetarians may find the menu lacking, but there are still a couple of dishes available to them here.

Food – It’s average. I ordered the Dr.Pepper pulled chicken sandwich. At first I found it a little lacking, but when I added the spicy mayo that our waitress dropped off it really kicked it up a notch. The coleslaw I’m told is much improved if you add a little vinegar to it.

To be fair I was warned by my friend who has visited on more than one occasion that the meal I was choosing was her least favourite. But I have to say I had the same feelings about the chicken chowder they served during Taste of Wellington.  

I do have it on good authority that the homemade desserts here are stellar. I might have to come back just for sweets!

Overall – A fun spot to meet friends. Average food that reminds me of a Royal Oak or the like but with a little less variety as they really focus on chicken and ribs. 3.5 out of 5 stars.

