We made it through another week on budget!! Small happy dance. I have to say it’s getting easier, as more food comes into season at the market its becoming easier to get more of our food from local sources. This week 61% of what we purchased came from local sources… not too shabby if I do say so myself.

But it isn’t always super easy – I found this week I was making more staples than buying them to 1. cut costs and 2. so that we would be eating home made versions of what we normally buy at the store. For example this week I made my very own mayo – adapted from a great recipe I saw on Urban Hippy

Mayo
3/4 cup oil – I used Olive Oil but next time I think I’ll go for something lighter like Canola
1 egg
1 TBSP vinegar
1 TBSP lemon juice
1/2 TSP salt
1/8 TSP paprika
1/8 TSP garlic powder
1/8 TSP mustard powder

Put all together in a bowl and mix for 30 seconds with a hand blender until mayo consistency is reached. Simple. Tasty. And will last in your fridge for a couple of weeks.

I also made pickles… and by I made pickles I mean I washed the cucumbers I bought at the market, cut them into 4 spears and put them into the left over pickle brine after I finished our dill pickles. In a few days I’ll have more dill pickles this time used from local cucumbers! Yes, I could start from scratch and make my own brine and just pickle the cucumbers – but that would be extra resources, another jar and more brine. Also, truth be told I have yet to perfect the art of making pickles. If anyone has a killer home made pickle recipe post it in the comments or send it my way! I’d be thankful.

It doesn’t have to be just cucumbers – pearl onions, cauliflower and more all taste great after a few days of pickling! This is also a great way to save produce that you can buy cheap and locally this time of year so that you can enjoy it months later.

