** UPDATE **
Ok… so I just tried some of the dill pickles… and wow. Not Dill pickles. Sour pickles – way too much cider vinegar not enough dill. Hubby hates the soggy texture of the cucumber and I’m not a fan of the smell. I don’t know what I’m going to do with 3 jars of them… I hate the idea of throwing them out. But I don’t see myself eating them as is.

So lesson learned, next time reduce cider vinegar by about half and up the dill.

*** ***

Cucumbers are in season across Ontario and with them a desire to store away as many of these local treats as possible for use in winter months. I came across a recipe so easy I had to share. It will fill 3 – 1 litre jars, or 6 500 ml jars. Personally I find my cucumbers are so large that I need to use the 1 litre jar if I’m not planning to cut the cucumber spheres in half.

Ingredients:

3 cups cider vinegar
2 1/4 cups water
1/4 cup pickling salt
Fresh garlic
Black Peppercorns
Dill Seed
Pickling spices
Cucumbers

Place the first three ingredients into a pot and bring to a slight boil.

Heat glass jars in the oven at 150 degrees for 10 minutes, only taking them out of the oven when you are ready to add ingredients. Into each jar place one clove of garlic (2 if using 1 litre jars), 6 peppercorns (12 for 1 litre jars), and 1 tsp each dill seed and pickling spice (2 tsp if using 1 litre jars).

Stuff jars full of sliced cucumber. I used spears but you could easily make slices for sandwiches or small rounds for garnish. Pack in as many cucumbers as you can.

Using a funnel and ladle, spoon hot vinegar liquid into the jars leaving 1/2 inch of space at the top. Add screw lid which has been boiled in water.

Pickles will be ready in 2-3 weeks and will last for months.

