After reading ‘Waste’ by Tristram Stuart, a wonderful book that really opened my eyes to the amount of food we as a society waste on a daily basis, I decided that I wanted to do my best to eat all parts of the animals, not just those select muscles that we deem more desirable. Which is just silly – organ meats are tasty, have been eaten by the masses for thousands of years and are affordable.

I recently made my frist attempt at cooking beef heart. A tough organ because it’s such strong muscle – but with a little prep work it can be as tender as the best cut of meat. This recipe is a variation of one that FoodiePrints sent my way – thanks for pointing me in the right direction guys!

Corned Beef Heart

Ingredients
1/2 Beef Heart
Water
3 TBSP Honey
1 TBSP Pickling salt or coarse grain salt
1 TBSP each Mustard seed, Crushed Coriander, Crushed Bay leaves
1/4 cup mustard
2 TBSP brown sugar

Mix honey, seasonings, salt and 3 cups of water in a large ziplock bag or bowl. Mix together and submerge beef heart for 24 hours. Leave it on the counter, it will absorb more than if left in the fridge.

Remove beef heart from the brine and place in a baking dish. Combine mustard and brown sugar and top the beef heart with 1/2 the mixture. Cover with foil and cook at 300 degrees for 1.5 hours or until meat is tender and cooked all the way through. Add the remaining mustard, brown sugar mix when there is about 20 minutes left in cooking and remove the foil.

