I seem to be in the mood lately for ingredients with Asian flair – soy sauce, sesame oils and ginger all make me drool. So it’s no surprise when I picked up a sirloin steak for dinner the other night that it turned into a beautiful Asian flavoured piece of beef. This was something I just threw together so feel free to play with the proportions and ingredients a bit to suit you better.

Asian Steak Marinade

1/4 cup soy sauce
2 TBSP mustard
1 small lemon, juiced
3 TBSP sesame oil
1 TBSP grated fresh ginger
1 TBSP minced fresh garlic
Sea salt
Pepper
Steak

I combined the first six ingredients in a shallow pan. Then seasoned our steak with a little salt and pepper and placed it in the marinade. I let it sit in there 1/2 hour on each side of the steak then grilled it to medium rare. Allowing it to sit for 5 minutes covered after grilling, the steak continued to cook to a tender medium, which is just perfect for hubby and I. Use fresh ginger – it makes all the difference flavour wise. Next time I might try substituting orange for lemon juice – but the lemon was zippy and nice.

