I’ve recently sat down with Michael from Michaelsdolce (an interview from which will be coming shortly) and have been given 8 flavours of his amazing jam to try. I was so excited as I brought them home but then a terrible thought came over me. These are not just any jams… they are to be savoured and enjoyed and I must do something special in order to try them out! The answer… I would make scones. So while I’m busy trying all Michael’s fabulous jams (and writing about them in a post coming up next week) I’ll leave you with my scone recipe.

Scones
 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
2 1/4 TSP baking powder
1 TBSP sugar
1/2 TSP salt (cold)
1/4 cup butter
2 eggs
1/3 cup half and half

Add first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Mix together. Add butter using a pastry blender until the butter is the size of small peas.  Make a well in the ingredients and add eggs and cream. Combine with a wooden spoon. Pat dough into a greased 9 inch cake pan.

Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes or until golden around the edges. Allow to cool and cut into wedges.

** You can also feel free to add your fave dried fruit or herbs to this recipe it turns out very nice!

