Over the holidays I was thrilled to get to visit with one of my very bestest friends and her lovely boy who are currently living in Australia. Knowing my foodie passions – they brought me a pack featuring some spices you can only find in Oz – and to be honest I had never heard of. So, today I thought I would share them with you!

1. Wattle Seed – has a flavour related to hazelnut, coffee, walnuts and chocolate. It’s used in desserts, cake and bread.

2. Tasmanian Pepper Leaf – These leaves have a spicy smoked woody flavour followed by a peppery zing. The heat reduces with cooking so often it’s added just before serving veggies or white meats. It’s also good in a rub or marinade.

3. Bush Tomato – a delicate carmelized, sun-dried tomato flavour with a slightly bitter taste this spice is used in casseroles, soups, marinades, sauces and dips.

4. Artesian Grinder Salt – It obviously tastes like salt and you use it… like salt. But what’s cool is that it comes from an ancient deep underground aquifer in North Western Victoria.

5. Lemon Myrtle – a lemon flavour with eucalyptus notes used with pork, fish, chicken and desserts. It’s also great with olive oil and vinegar for salad dressing.