A while back I asked my twitter friends to give me the names of any vegetarian cookbooks they use. I’m always on the look out for great vegetarian recipes and for some reason I need more help being inspired in this style of cooking than others. Quite a few people got back to me suggesting the Moosewood series of books. In fact so many people suggested them that I immediately decided to check them out. They are just great books! In one I found a recipe for Stuffed Eggplant that I fell in love with and wanted to share a version of it with you. This isn’t the original recipe out of the book, as always I had to make my own little tweaks – whether on purpose or because I didn’t read it properly.

Stuffed eggplant… simple idea and wonderful meal.

Ingredients
2 medium eggplants 
1 TBSP olive oil 
1/2 onion, chopped finely
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 TSP ground cloves 
1/2 TSP cumin 
1/2 TSP cinnamon
1 TBSP Hot sauce of your choosing
1 cup sliced mushrooms
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/2 cup wheat germ or bread crumbs
2 cups cottage cheese 
2 cups brown rice, cooked
4 handfuls cheddar cheese
Sesame seeds

Slice eggplants in half lengthwise. Score the flesh of each half with paring knife, being careful not to pierce skin. Use spoon to scoop out flesh and leave about 1/2″ thick shell. Reserve flesh to use in filling.

 Heat oil in non stick skillet. Saute onions until translucent, 5 minutes. Add garlic, cloves, cumin, cinnamon, and hot sauce and continue to saute for about 1 minute. Cut reserved eggplant flesh into small cubes and add them. Saute about 10 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add mushrooms and cook 5 minutes longer, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and mix in salt, black pepper, wheat germ or bread crumbs, rice and cottage cheese. 

Preheat oven to 350. Fill eggplant halves with filling and top with a handful of cheddar cheese and sprinkle some seeds. Bake for 30 – 40 minutes until eggplant shells are soft.

