It seems like with each passing year there are more and more food events going on in town, and some, like ‘A Taste of the Prairies’, seem particularly interesting.

I’m one of those people who LOVE food. And the fact that you are here probably suggests you are too. I don’t get paid to think, eat and obsess about food all day – I do it for that love of it. It’s my hobby. It’s my entertainment. Sometimes I like to learn about it and other times I just want to relax and enjoy it. That’s one of the reasons I watch Food Network. And it’s one of the reasons I’m so excited for this NAC event.

‘A Taste of the Prairies’ is a Live Cooking Demonstration and Tasting Event. Imagine watching all those chefs create wonderful dishes on TV then getting to actually TRY them! I adore events like this. What? I’ve convinced you it’s going to be awesome and you want the details already… ok!

Where : National Arts Centre – Le Salon
When: May 4, 2011 – 7pm
Who: 
Chef Dan Walker, Weczeria Food & Wine, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Chef Alexander Svenne, Bistro 71/4, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Chef Michael Blackie, National Arts Centre, Ottawa, Ontario
How: To buy tickets and get more information visit the NAC website.

Now the most important question… What. As in what will you be dining on that evening?

Chef Walker will be preparing a Northern pike roe with peas and fresh pasta. His second dish will be Saskatoon raised Wagyu rib eye with potato, red onion and roast garlic.

Chef Svenne is planning a pickerel cheek ceviche with pickerel mousseline, a white fish caviar, fried pickerel cheek – red beet borscht and horseradish crème fraiche for his first dish. Followed by Red wine and rosemary cured elk loin with pickled radish, a rye caraway cracker and sweet “Nicky Brown” braised elk shoulder with Jerusalem artichoke puree and beer marinated crispy onions.

Finally Chef Blackie will be serving up a crispy Baked hazelnut glutinous rice ball with tarragon. A cheesecake core Saskatoon berry and a green peppercorn pull.

So head on over to the NAC website and pick up your tickets today! For $75 it’s dinner and a show. Pretty darn good if you ask me. Will I be seeing you there? Hope so!

