Tomorrow I’m announcing the winner of my latest cook book draw – could it be you? Well it could be if you are ‘liking’ Simply Fresh Ottawa on Facebook. Check here for details.

In the mean time I’m cooking from the very book that I’m giving away! Well not the same book – you’ll win a new copy I swear! But testing a few recipes from a book never hurt anyone… unless the recipes are horrid. Luckily for me, with this book, that is not the case!

The first was Frosty Banana Berry Smoothie from page 52. I love smoothies! And I don’t normally need a recipe to make them, but I  thought – what better way to see someone’s style than to make something I usually make on my own but follow their directions. What I found was a simple, to the point recipe that made a few large servings. No wonder this cook book is for guys! It was frosty, tasty and packed with natural goodness.

Next up was the Baked Chicken with Honey-whole-grain Mustard Glaze on page 122. What a great combination. Sweet but not too sweet. I love glazed chicken but often in the interest of time just make a sauce to go with it rather than applying it to the bird. It was worth the very little bit of effort here to have such a yummy end product!

I ran into trouble with the Grilled Salmon Teriyaki page 169. It wasn’t so much trouble as it was a substitution. And this  time a substitution I was aware I was making! Not just a mix up while buying groceries. I went to Whalesbone fully intending to buy Salmon but I noticed they had the most wonderful looking Trout. So out went salmon, in went trout! It was still a wonderful and tasty recipe. Simple and to the point – nothing but flavourful goodness.

I’m really loving the simplicity of this book. Here are my next three recipes to work through!

Grilled Hanger Steak page 144
Tuna Tomato Pasta page 177
Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes page 198

Happy cooking and good luck in the contest – trust me this is a great book to have on your shelves. Men or no men to learn from it!

