I have always loved brunch at Stoneface Dolly’s on Preston. They even have the cutest little baby shirt that reads “I had my first pancake at Stoneface Dolly’s”. I had heard good things about dinner but hadn’t tried it out myself until a few weeks ago. Sadly I can’t seem to find my photos from that night – but trust me when I say it tasted even better than it looked.

Price – Mid range here in Ottawa. Mains will run you anywhere from $15 to $22 for dinner. With a two mains and a couple of glasses of wine you can expect to pay around $50 plus tip. Definitely not going to break the bank.

Ambiance – I love the feel of Stoneface Dolly’s – the open kitchen, big bright windows. It’s like you have been welcomed into a friend’s home. It is comfortable and relaxed – casual dress is a must. No need to dress up here.

Menu Options – There is a wide array of things here including Italian. Of course… the restaurant is located right in the heart of little Italy. There are pastas, but also South African Bobotie, Jambalaya and Jerk Seasoned Chicken. There really is something for everyone.

Food – So very tasty. I had the Veal ‘Birds’ – ground veal wrapped in prosciutto served with a portobello mushroom marsala cream sauce. So different from anything I’ve tried in other restaurants. It reminded me of a very flavourful meat loaf. Our server let me know that this was one of his favorite meals in the restaurant and that they had been serving it from almost the very opening of Stoneface Dolly’s. I can see why – this dish is a real winner.

Overall – I love this restaurant, I’ve been here several times and it never disappoints. Friendly service, comfortable atmosphere and great food at a reasonable price. 4 out of 5 stars.

