It’s been more than a year since I first posted about my Rhubarb Rosemary Muffins, but I’m taking another look at them today as I will be on CBC Radio 1 discussing them on the program D is for Dinner. I’ve made a few slight changes to my original recipe that makes them a bit lighter, though they are still a pretty dense muffin. I love how savory they are!

Rhubarb Banana Rosemary Muffin

 7 – 8 stalks of Rhubarb
1 cup sugar
1 TBSP fresh rosemary, diced
2 TBSP maple syrup
1 ripe banana peeled and mashed
1 egg
2 1/2 TSP baking powder
1 TSP baking soda
1/4 TSP salt
2 TBSP vegetable oil
1 cup whole grain flour
2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup water 

Wash and cut rhubarb into 1/2 inch pieces. Add to a small pot with sugar and 1/2 cup water. Boil until rhubarb has broken down. Add rosemary and cook 2 minutes longer. Let cool.

In a large mixing bowl add the cooled rhubarb mixture to all other ingredients. Add the cup of water slowly until you reach your desired muffin batter consistency. Depending on the moisture level of the rhubarb mixture you may need to add more or less water at this stage. Also depending on the ripeness of your fruit, you may need to add more sugar.

** UPDATE**

Here is my interview on the CBC! I meant to say that once the rhubarb mixture is cooked I add the rosemary… but happened to say that once the mixture is cooked I add rhubarb again. Oops – guess the nerves got to me a bit…

 

Bake in a lined or oiled muffin tin at 350 for 30 minutes or until a fork inserted into the centre of the muffin comes out clean.

