I had three recipes that I was planning to try this week from Mad Hungry:

Shrimp Scampi page 172
Chicken Salad Sandwiches page 78
Blueberry Bran Muffins page 49

Well I can say right off the bat that I never made the shrimp scampi. I went into my favorite sustainable fish shop and was told that they weren’t carrying shrimp at this time… so poof! No shrimp scampi. Though it sounded like a lovely dish and I’ll be sure to try it out when shrimp is in season.

On to something I did make… the chicken salad. It says to used cooked chicken but it doesn’t say how to cook it. So I used come creative license here and BBQ’d it. It really added a pizzaz to the flavour of the chicken salad. Like all the recipes in this book it was simple, hearty and left you really satisfied. It only takes a few steps to have a really great meal.

This time I also tried one of the baking recipes. Great muffins. I loved them. So much so that I’ve made them several times since adding brown rice to them mix, substituting apple butter for the maple syrup and the cup of blueberries for just about any other muffin flavour you can think of. The one thing I do suggest is using 1/2 a TBSP of baking soda instead of the full TBSP – I find it gets rid of any tangy after taste the soda can leave behind.

These two recipes will be my last from this book, then I’ll be moving on to my next! Here are the final  three recipes:

Creamed Spinach, page 213
Char-baked Tomato, Zucchini, and Eggplant, page 206
New Orleans Style Red Beans and Rice, page 188

Happy cooking!

