Here it is, my final post from Mad Hungry. What a great book this has been. Overall I have to say I’ve truely enjoyed everything I’ve made out of it. Simple but satisfying meals and dishes. Easy to make… but more important, easy for hubby to make. This book is a keeper.

This week I made:

Creamed Spinach, page 213
Char-baked Tomato, Zucchini, and Eggplant, page 206
New Orleans Style Red Beans and Rice, page 188

Ok… Creamed Spinach. It was tasty and easy, a little bland the way creamed spinach tends to be but overall very enjoyable. However, I’m a bit of a tart and somehow got my proportions of spinach to bechamel all wrong. I knew I had less spinach than called for, but for some unexplained reason I didn’t think to cut back on the sauce. As a result I had uber creamy spinach. That more than likely is what caused a bit of the blandness.

The Char-baked Tomato, Zucchini, and Eggplant was wonderful. Just wonderful. I used it as the main dish in our meal that night rather than a side. I don’t like to put THAT much effort into my side dishes. If I’m going to spend more than 10 minutes on them they are going to shine as the star of the meal! If you plan to do that, I would reccomend doubling up on the recipe. I found mine didn’t char as much as hers did (at least by looking at the picture) but it was still very tasty and held together very well. I’ll be making this one again for sure.

Finally, New Orleans Style Red Beans and Rice. I decided to make this a vegetarian dish by omitting the ham hock and sausage. I kind of regret that. A spicy sausage would have added a lot to the meal. It was still quite good, with just the right amount of heat. Hubby found it a little on the salty side, but I enjoyed it the way it was. I cut the recipe in half. That’s one thing you have to watch in this book, sometimes the recipes serve 4 other times it’s 8. There is only so many red beans you need in a week.

I’ll announce the next book for the cook along book club book! I’ll give you a bit of a hint by saying it’s a vegetarian cook book. I guess that’s not really saying much is it! Until next week.

