I got the best birthday gift this year… a gift certificate to Le Cordon Bleu Bistro at Signatures. I know… it’s ok to be jealous. I have been wanting to go here for ages. I actually used to live just up the street, but at the time was a student and a meal here would have been out of the question. Actually, until recently it still would have been out of the question. However, in recent years the prices at Signatures have come down substantially. It’s now comparable with other high end Ottawa restaurants, and on some days it’s even a bigger bargain… but more on that later.

Price – And by later I mean now. Wednesdays Signatures offers amazing deals. Hubby and I had set 4 course menu with a bottle of wine to share for just under $90. Not a piece –  total. Amazed? I know I was. That is part of their summer Bistro promotion which has been extended. Can’t make it on a Wednesday? Thursday, Friday and Saturday they also offer a 4 course tasting menu for $80 per person with wine pairings. If you would like to forgo the wine, it’s only $59. And of course you always have the option to dine ala cart.

Ambiance – I think the best word to describe it would be traditional. It is a bit formal and you will feel a touch out of place if you aren’t dressed at least business casual. But I think that can be said of most any fine dining restaurant. No need for a tux or ball gown, but getting a little dressed up just makes the whole evening that much more special. This is definitely the place for a special dinner, or an intimate gathering of friends.

Menu Options – As I had mentioned Hubs and I had a set menu, so we didn’t have any options. That suited me just fine. Sometimes I love just having food put in front of me, it can be adventurous and I often am surprised how much I like something that I might have passed on if given the chance to pick for myself. The menu changes regularly , so there is always something new to try.

Food – Amazing French Bistro food. Really high quality and just superb. I couldn’t tell you which part of the meal was even my favorite, the steak cooked so perfectly, the amazing soup with truffle oil… not to say anything about the appetizer or the dessert. To me this style of food is comforting and familiar. It was truly a wonderful meal.

Overall – I enjoyed my visit to Signatures very much. The wait staff was attentive and professional, the food was incredible and you cannot beat that price. I wish it was known if they use any local food products, I didn’t see any Savour Ottawa information, though perhaps I wasn’t looking hard enough. Though they are part of Ocean Wise which is great. I look forward to my next visit. 4.5 out of 5 stars

 

