This month’s Ottawa Good Food Box had a wonderful seasonal surprise: apples and cranberries. I have to say that cranberries are one of my very favorite things and my home town growing up was apple central. Not only were some of my uncles apple farmers, but my town had both an apple blossom festival in the spring and an apple festival in the fall. Throw in the world’s biggest apple theme park and you can safely say I know my apples.

So here is a sweet fall treat that combines the two and adds in some healthy and tasty walnuts!

Cranberry Walnut Apple Crisp

5 medium cooking apples – macs are local and great, cored and sliced
1/2 cup of fresh cranberries
1/2 cup granulated sugar, split
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup oatmeal
1 cup california walnuts
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 TBSP cinnamon split

In a 9 inch pie plate, layer apple slices and cranberries, sprinkle with 1/4 cup of granulated sugar and 1/2 TBSP of cinnamon.

In a separate bowl add all other ingredients and mix well until crumbly. Spread walnut topping over apple cranberry mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes until apples are soft and topping is golden brown.

Allow to cool and enjoy!

