Usually a bucket list is things you wish to accomplish before you *ahem* kick the bucket. But why put such a depressing timeline on it? This year I am making a list of foodie things that I want to do/try/accomplish before this year kicks the bucket. Not me. I’m not going anywhere. So here are the 12 foodie adventures I would like to have before the end of 2012!

I’m going to eat you… and call it research!

  1. I want to eat at 15 restaurants off The List, that I haven’t already. It doesn’t sound like a lot but when you factor in also going to places you already love… that’s a lot of eating out!
  2. I want to learn to cook offal (edible organ meat such as the heart, tounge, liver of an animal) that I actually enjoy eating. I’ve made beef liver… wasn’t a fan of that recipe. But I learned this year that I am a potential fan of anything, as long as it is cooked properly. I can’t count the number of times I’ve said “Oh I normally hate (insert previously hated thing here), but like this… it’s good!”
  3. I want to go all out at high tea at the Chateau Laurier. And what better year than this, seeing as it is their 100th anniversary!
  4. Host a foodie get together.
  5. Have an out of the ordinary dining experience. I realize this is a bit vague, but I think I will know this when it happens.
  6. I want to learn to can/preserve more local goodies and ‘pick my own’ whenever possible this year.
  7. Spend time and discover Ottawa’s China Town.
  8. Learn to make 3 things I currently buy.
  9. Find a white wine I enjoy drinking… not just the one I drink because I finished the red.
  10. Learn how to cook with 3 ingredients I not only do not use right now, but have never heard of.
  11. Make my own dishes… or dish. Depends on how the finished product looks. Let’s not get crazy ambitious.
  12. Find Ottawa’s best ________. A taste test of the city’s best something. Right now I’m thinking tacos. But that might be my craving for Mexican food talking. Yep… just checked. It definitely is.

What’s on your bucket list this year?

