Time for a little update with my vegetarian challenge.

It is 100 times harder in the winter. Spring, summer and fall I was able to eat veggies all the time no problem. I even craved it. I loved light and fresh meals made from my local farmer’s market.

The winter is a barren wasteland with nothing but squash and root vegetables as far as the eye can see.

I can’ts stands it no more!!!

Ok I’m being over dramatic. But I do find eating a vegetarian diet, to say nothing of a vegan diet much MUCH harder to do in the winter months. It’s not so much that I’m craving meat, it’s just that my winter cooking style seems to gravitate towards it. Sure I’m still eating pastas and chili and risotto that are veggie based, but the pot pies and other comforting dishes seem to call out for meat!

It also doesn’t help that I’ve been practicing my French cooking through ‘The Bonne Femme Cookbook’. The french don’t have as many vegetarian options as one might wish for.

So I guess this vegetarian thing isn’t always as easy as I had grown accustom to. What’s life without some challenges?!?

