I think this will be my final post about cooking from the Bonne Femme Cookbook. Not that I am planning to stop cooking from it, just that there is only so many times you can rave about how scrumptious and simple these dishes are. Easy to make, easier to eat. They are so tasty and soul satisfying – I’ll be going back to this one for years to come.

This week I made:

Roasted Butternut Squash Bisque with Sweet Curry, page 75
Osso Bucco-Style Chicken Thighs, page 171
Tagliatelle alla Bolognese Francese, page 226
One Bonne Started Salad, page 31

Let’s start with the soup and salad!

I’m constantly amazed with the depth of flavour that these recipes are able to achieve. The ingredients are really given a chance to shine and there is nothing more comforting than a nice meal of soup and salad, unless it’s paired with some fresh bread. The one thing that I have to say confused me was why this soup is called a bisque. That got me wondering why any soup was a bisque. So I took a look and apparently bisque’s are made with fish stock. One question answered… but I still don’t see how this was a bisque. Oh well I just call it yummy.

** Update: I guess if I say I’m going to also talk about the salad I should talk about the salad. It was so good it wiped my memory clean. Simple, clean and amazing. Everything a salad should be.

Butternut Squash Yummy with Sweet Holy Crap Curry

Next up the Osso Bucco-style Chicken Thighs. So tender, so flavourful so easy to make. The only small pet peeve of mine. I had made some beautiful crispy chicken skin at the start of the recipe, which of course added to the over all flavour of the whole dish, but then you braise the thighs so when you actually go to eat the skin, it’s slimy and not as appetizing. So I offer you a couple of suggestions. 1. Don’t get attached to the idea of eating the skin, and just take it off before you chow down, or 2. Take off the skin before you braise the thighs and save it like a weird food horder until it’s time to plate it up and serve.

I’m not even 100% sure the skin would stay crispy or un-eaten long enough for dinner if you use option 2.

Finally the Bolognese Francese – so good. So damn good. I loved this recipe! That is honestly all there is to say. Make this … you won’t regret it.

It’s like a hug on a plate.

Ok… one little thing to say – don’t use whole wheat pasta. The colour of the sauce on the brown pasta wouldn’t do justice to the amazingness you would be about to put into your mouth. So get a different kind – I went with spinach.

Next week I’ll announce my next book – any suggestions??

