Last weekend I was invited to an event hosted by Dishcrawl Ottawa. Typically, these events hop from restaurant to restaurant eating a different course of the meal at a different location. This time however, we were treated to a large family style meal at Pressed – Urban Gourmet Sandwich Bar. It was so good, I came back the next night with my mother and husband so they could try it too!

 

That alone should tell you all you need to know about Pressed. It’s so good, I went back the very next night… and to be honest I considered buying several sandwiches for the road. During the dishcrawl I was able to sample the pulled pork and brisket sandwiches. Each were smoky, tender and absolutely rave-worthy. The next night I was able to try the black bean, roasted vegetable and boar sandwiches. All were amazing. So much so that I’m pressed (ha ha pun intended) to pick a favorite. It’s not just the intense and layered flavours of these sandwiches that I adore, but also the fantastical textures. Pressing the sandwiches creates a delightful crunch on the bread while heating the fillings through making them tender and creamy.

 

Don’t lick your computer screen… I know… it’s hard not to.

 

You would think that a pressed sandwich shop would be all about the meat, and trust me – it does it right! But I was delighted to find the multiple vegetarian and vegan options on the menu. All of which are done with just as much love and care as the meat dishes.

So how does pressed achieve such amazing flavour… well their giant kick arse smoker doesn’t hurt!

Beyond amazing flavours of the sandwiches themselves, they also have an array of side dishes to choose from including a stellar mac and cheese, soups, chili and collard greens. They also have a sweet potato chip that makes me smile.

There isn’t much around Pressed, but the venue itself is a very hip and casual hang out spot – especially after they get their liquor license this March. The decor is a comfortable homage to the neighbourhood it comes from, with pews from a local church and beams reclaimed from a home a couple blocks over that was doing a renovation. With local art on the walls and a stage area that features local artists for weekly Sunday afternoon open mic sessions – this will become a go to spot for anyone in the neighbour hood looking for good food at a good price.

 

The Mac and Cheese is really something special

 

Speaking of price all sandwiches range between $8-$11. Incredibly reasonable for one of the best sandwiches you will ever have.

If you haven’t been yet, I strongly recommend you hit up Pressed. You can thank me later with some of those wicked sweet potato chips.

5 out of 5 stars. I’m impressed with Pressed. Sorry. I had to.

