This is the third new item for my bucket list and another success! This time I tried Malanga a root vegetable from tropical climates and an all around crazy looking veggie.

Yummy?

As a root veggie I decided to treat them the way I do with numerous other root veggies and bake them with some seasoning. First step: Give them a wash then cut off the fuzzy brown skin. What was inside was a speckled pink that I knew ‘the kid’ would approve of. Then I sliced them thin, coated them with a little olive oil and sprinkled some garlic powder, salt and pepper on them. I spread them in a thin layer on a baking sheet and cooked them at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, until they were cooked through and crisp like chips.

From fuzz to fantastic!

Mission accomplished! They were wonderful. The veg itself doesn’t have much flavour, so even your pickiest of eaters shouldn’t fuss too much. It also lends itself well to any herb and seasoning you would like to add. I think this one may actually make its way into regular veggie rotation at our house!

