Alright folks, it’s now less than a week away!! Celebrity Chefs of Canada is almost here and I’m getting ready. That’s right, an event this cool you can’t just show up. Well I guess you could, but where is the fun in that? To help you prep, here are the top 5 things I’m doing to get ready for this kick ass event.

1. Putting on my game face.

With so many amazing chefs talking nothing but stellar food all day, you run a real danger of pulling a jaw muscle if your mouth isn’t used to saying ‘wow’ about 1079 times in a day. So for the past week I’ve been stretching my jaw muscles in a rigid 15 minute calisthenic regiment. I just hope it’s enough.

Hold each pose for 1 minute and repeat 3 times ending with a big silly grin.

2. Practicing with my big girl heels.

While you can dress any which way you please for this event, it is at the fabulous NAC and I always feel that calls for a little bit of class. To celebrate this year I’m planning to wear a pair of heels. For at least 20 minutes with my back up flats in my bag. To ensure I last the entire 20 minutes with minimal face plants, I’ve been wearing the shoes around the house. We’ll see how long I last.

3. Studying up on the culinary famous.

The only thing better than meeting Susar Lee in person is knowing who he is and why exactly he rocks before hand. A great way to do it is to check out all the local bloggers who have been interviewing and talking to the chefs from the event. You can find them all here with links to their articles!

4. Drinking my weight in wine.

Did you know that each of these fantabulous chef teams is paired with a winery?? True story. So that means that not only are you going to be sampling some pretty spectacular food, but you’ll have an on point wine along for the ride. Personally I’m getting my palate ready by drinking a bottle of wine with every meal. Building my tolerance so to speak. On a side note, Pinot Noir and cheerios… not a winning combination. Skip the cereal.

5. Not losing my ticket

I hear this event is nearly sold out. With remaining tickets available here. Which just means that I can’t really afford to misplace my ticket. So I’ve put it somewhere smart, somewhere that when I do forget where I’ve put them, then frantically search through the house and eventually ‘find’ them I will think… “oh yeah… that makes sense. Good thinking me.”

 

So there you have it. My 5 step plan for getting ready for what is sure to be the most badass event of 2012. Hope to see you all there!

