As part of my work with C’est Bon Cooking (who has a wicked new website I think is worth clicking on the link to see), I’m in the Market quite a bit. Imagine my delight when I stop by the new Mexican restaurant in the Market Building – Corazon De Maiz – only to find the most amazing, authentic and truly tasty tacos and burritos and other treats! I’ll give you a hint… that delight is off the charts.

It’s a cute little stall in the market building, 55 ByWard Market Square, nothing too special from the outside – but it’s the food they are cooking up that has me coming back time and time again. Fresh and flavourful, their beef anything is my all time favorite. Though the other options are pretty good too. There is just something about the beef. They top it all off with amazingly fresh pico de gallo and what I believe is the best guacamole in the entire city.

It was so good I actually forgot to take a photo until I was almost done.

All that and you can get lunch for about $8. Under $10 if you want a larger meal or a drink with it. But seriously… why have a value meal when you can have rock your socks off tacos??

Craving a little spice with your meal?? Not to worry. The homemade salsa bar will hook you up. So many choices – all so delish. I’d really suggest trying a bit of each.

The only thing I’d like to see is a veggie option… not that I could be easily persuaded to give up the beef at this place.

If you are looking for a casual place to grab a bit of lunch this is an amazing choice. You can even take it to go, and since seating inside is somewhat limited that isn’t a bad choice on a nice day.

4.5 out of 5 stars

