I recently had the pleasure of being introduced to another amazing Ottawa product – Major Craig’s Chutney! I interviewed Andrew from Major Craig’s a few weeks ago – you can check that out here. But just got to try some of his amazing chutney’s for myself.

Chutney was a bit of a mystery for me, but I guess the best way to think of it is as a thick sauce. And what a flavourful sauce it is!! It can add such a kick to whatever you are making. From being amazing on its own as a topping for meats or veggies or making your creations that much more fabulous, there is no wrong way to use it!.

The North India chutney in my creamy polenta was just what the doctor ordered! And it’s so good – I’m also really keen to see if it can fix some of my *ahem* not so brilliant culinary ideas. You know… the ones that started out with what was sure to be a burst of inspiration but ended up being a not so tasty pile of ‘meh’ on a plate. Oh yes… those nights still happen.

The best part of Major Craig’s is the story behind it. Major James Craig developed the recipe for the North India chutney over 125 years ago and passed it through his family until it finally came to Andrew. He began the business by making the chutney as gifts for his family and friends at Christmas, only to discover that they loved it and wanted more! As demand grew, Major Craig’s was born and named for the man whose original recipe started it all.

So if you are looking for something to spice up your next meal… you gotta try some Major Craig’s!

