Summer means the start of the best season of all … BBQ season! And this year I’m planning to kick it up a notch. How, you might ask? Or not, considering the title of this post.

Either way! The answer is the same… by turning my grill into a smoker. Of course I’ll need to learn how to do this properly and I think I’ve found just the book to help – Smoking Meat by Jeff Phillips.

An idiots guide to smoking everything from mac and cheese to pork chops and recipes for rubs, marinades and something called Atomic Buffalo Turds (jalapeno peppers stuffed with cream cheese and wrapped in bacon then smoked to perfection).

If you have a smoker and are looking for some great recipes, or want to venture into smoking your meal for the frist time (like me!) then this is a great resource. And I’ve got a copy of it for you. All you need do. Follow Simply Fresh on Facebook (click here) and leave a message on the wall telling me your favorite thing to BBQ! Winners will have to live in Ottawa so that I’m able to drop off the book, and will be selected at random on Monday. Good luck and happy eating!

