I’ve struggled with homemade mayo. There I said it. Either the consistency never works for me or the taste is god awful. But I’ve finally found a recipe idiot proof enough for me, which means that everyone can do it! I also love that the only equipment needed is a bowl and a whisk because that makes clean up easy. And we all know that dishes and I get along like peanut butter and onions. Sorry for that mental flavour profile.

 

 Sorry for the blur, I was on my way to make a sandwich and time was of the essence.

Ingredients
1 egg yolk
1 1/2 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp cider vinegar
1/4 tsp Dijion
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup vegetable oil

Combine the first 5 ingredients in a bowl. Whisk 30 seconds until combined. Add the oil slowly. SLOWER! About 2 TBSP at a time until combined, about 4 minutes.

For aioli add 1 clove of minced garlic to the first step and replace vegetable oil with olive oil.

