Thank you so much to my friend Kylie for writing this post for me!! I’m eternally jealous that she got to attend such an amazing event and am currently on the hunt for a sugar daddy who would like to take me to such fine foodie evenings in exchange for being completely embarrassed at my behaviour as I flirt with the guy pouring my wine. But enough about me and my wine… to Kylie for her account of Gold Medal Plates 2012!

I Can’t Believe I Didn’t Eat The Yak!

This past Monday I was given the amazing opportunity to attend the Gold Medal Plates event held at the NAC.   The event raises money for the Canadian Olympic Foundation while highlighting Ottawa’s best chefs.  Many cities across the country host a similar event.  The winning chef from each city meet later in 2013 to determine Canada’s best chef. Last year the winner was Ottawa’s own Marc Lepine from Atelier.

 Eight local restaurants showed off their talents and it was impressive.   Eight mini plates paired with Canadian wine and beer.  The evening finished with dessert provided by the NAC.

There was no description provided for the dessert but I would call it lemony ball of goodness with chocolate gold pebbles and hazelnut crumbs. Divine!

Unfortunately, I drove so I only sampled a few wines. The wines (and beers!) were all Canadian. The ones I tried were amazing and paired well.

The food was unbelievable, I was proud of our Ottawa restaurants and believe they are as good or better as restaurants in Vancouver, Toronto or Montreal.  

The winners?

3rd place and my favourite –

Jonathan Korecki – Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen and Bar

Wild Turkey, kabocha and YOW curry

 

2nd place and so good my colleague went back for seconds

Jason Duffy – Arc Lounge.Dining

B.C. Ling cod, smokey “porchetta”, mushroom cake, green tomato chutney, pickled cherry-fennel pollen earth, basil

 

The winner? And the kicker?  I didn’t try this dish. I was so full and I thought to myself there is no way yak is going to win. I was wrong.  And to be honest I was a bit hesitant, I had never eaten yak. Biggest disappointment ever. 

Jamie Stunt – OZ Kafe

Pan seared Tiraislin Farms yak, prawn pickle, crispy tomatillo, smoked boar vinaigrette, herbs, citrus, and spice

 

The evening ended with performances by some of Canada’s great musical talents – Sam Roberts, Ed Robertson, Barney Bentall and Alan Doyle.  

What a memorable evening – if you ever get a chance to attend, do! You won’t regret it! And remember to try the yak!

 

 

