It’s not every day I fall totally in love with a cookbook – some take me months to warm up to. But I can say without a shadow of a doubt I am head over stiletto heels for The Art of Simple Food by Alice Waters. What a gem! I know… I’m probably preaching to the choir for most of you out there – but really. Wow. LOVE this book.

It’s not just the recipes – which of course are simple, pure and clean along with fantastically super amazing it turns out – but it is also the romantic nature with which Ms. Waters uses to talk about food and cooking in general. Just stellar.

My first venture into the book – dipping my toe so to speak – was a very easy recipe. In fact there weren’t even any ingredients listed. Just a page about root vegetables and roasting, page 114. Basically any fall and winter veggies, coated with olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and pepper and you have a wonderful side dish. Easy peasy.

IMG_0419

I started out with just some standards in my fridge.

IMG_0427

Into a casserole dish with olive oil and salt and pepper…

IMG_0431

And baked at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.

Truth be told I actually started cooking these, then got called away so I turned them off and finished them about 4 hours later. They were still amazing… for breakfast. Which is when I actually got around to eating them. It may not have been what Chef Waters had in mind when she wrote about roasting root vegetables – but it’s how I roll. Turnip for breakfast?? Why not?

The next recipe came from page 47 – Aioli.

You may have taken a look at the picture of the veggies to be roasted and saw a head of garlic. Which happened to be my only one in the apartment that day. Why yes I did roast the whole thing… and yes, I was supposed to leave some raw for the aioli – how astute of you dear reader.

Sigh… so my aioli turned into roasted garlic aioli. Which is still super tasty, but if you want a punch of garlic flavour you need to use raw – or double up on your garlic cloves.

I chose secret option #3 and added a little garlic powder to my finished aioli.

IMG_0455

Way to be you tasty little roasted toes of garlic

IMG_0456

I kept trying to tell myself to only make 1/2 a recipe, because as one person how much aioli do you need?? Luckily the rest of my body ignored my brain (nothing new there) and made the whole thing. Which I easily ate. Because, let’s face it, it’s mayo with garlic. Who isn’t going to eat all of it?

IMG_0461

Make my current lunch feel lacking.

Next recipes to try out:

Pizza Dough, page 60
Roasted Almonds with herbs, page number to come… seriously – how did I forget to write that down?? Fail.

***

Update

Roasted Almonds with herbs are on page 216

