Though I have, within the last year or two, started a love affair with olives and other salty items – I have a definite sweet tooth. Like most North Americans, I’d say. I love all things sweet – maple, honey, chocolate. Hell, I’ve been known to eat sugar cubes. Like a horse.

But my favourite is molasses. The thick, dark and sweet by product of refining sugar cane, grapes or sugar beets.

It is that added amazingness that makes a ginger cookie the best cookie ever!
It is the flavour that makes brown sugar so damn good.
Molasses I heart you.

But did you know that molasses can also be deadly?? Oh yes.

758px-BostonMolassesDisaster

From the Globe Newspaper Co.

94 years ago today marks the Boston Molasses Disaster when a large molasses storage tank burst, and a wave of molasses rushed through the streets. They estimate it was flowing at almost 35 mph (56 km/h). In the end it killed 21 and injured 150.

To this day, some residents claim that on hot summer days, the area still smells of molasses.

When it’s your time, it’s your time – but this would be a pretty sweet way to go. Sorry, a pun that amazing just had to be used!!

