recipes

Yesterday was such fun. I was on Rogers Daytime for about 7 minutes making some flourless chocolate cakes. They really are awesome little cakes, so I figured I would share the recipe. They may be the best thing that came out of my time of “wheat-free”.

That’s right. My “wheat-free” days are done. All in all I felt good not eating it, but no better than when I was eating it. Maybe if I had lasted longer, I would have noticed a difference. My weight stayed pretty much the same – the biggest difference was really when I would cheat and have a little something.

I remember being doubled over with stomach pain after eating one of my favourite muffins (Morning Glory from Epicuria – 357 St. Laurent – if anyone happens to be in the neighbourhood) – but it was so worth it.

So because I will never give up a muffin this good (seriously, it’s like a carrot muffin to the extreme… amazing); I started incorporating wheat back into my life but only once a day. I figure everything in moderation, right? And to be fair the amount of wheat flour I ate *was* absurd.

But even if you are eating wheat all the time, doesn’t mean you don’t need these fudgy little cakes once in a while. They were so awesome I don’t even have a photo of them because they were so quickly inhaled. You know. For quality control for the show. Had to be done.

Also, because I’m not a great blogger, I don’t have a clip of the segment (but you are probably better off not seeing me ramble and mutter) – so here is a song from my favourite childhood band Green Day. Don’t listen to it Mom. You won’t like it.

 

Flourless Fudgy Cakes

3.5 oz dark chocolate
2 TBSP unsalted butter
2 eggs, separated
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray 8oz ramekins with non stick spray and dust with flour.

In a double boiler, melt chocolate and butter until smooth.

In a separate bowl, use a hand held mixer to beat egg whites into stiff peaks.

In a third bowl, mix sugar, vanilla and egg yolks until thick and creamy. Mix in the melted chocolate 1/4 at a time. Fold egg whites into the mixture.

Spoon batter into the jars equally and bake for 25 minutes or until the cakes have risen and the tops are cracked.

