Has anyone else felt like the time since Christmas to now has just flown by?? I don’t know if it’s the chilly nights, the snow… or the fact that I became addicted to a couple of television shows that monopolized my life for the past few weeks (but what a wonderful addiction you are Downton Abbey and Boardwalk Empire… sigh… ). But I need to get back to the Cook Along Book Club!

I know I last time I said I would be making 2 recipes from the Alice Water’s book – The Art of Simple Food. But like a bad student I’ve only finished 1/2 my homework! I’m going to put the pizza dough on the back burner for now and focus on the almonds.

They were pretty darn good.

The roasted almonds from page 216 were quick, easy and amazing. Toasting, salting and adding herbs to raw almonds may seem silly when you can buy them already seasoned, but just think of the possibilities! So many flavour combinations to try.

IMG_0464

And the best part is that you are in charge of the salt and flavour components. Sick of ‘spicy’ nuts that aren’t really spicy – we can fix that! Tarragon your favourite herb??? You can add it!

I can’t say I’ll be doing this all the time (I’m lazy and I like almonds the way they are), but every now and then I’ll break this out for someone special.

IMG_0466

My personal favourite combination?? Lime and black pepper. Ooohhh baby.

Next post will cover:

Tart and pie dough – page 174
Lemon Curd – page 199

See what I did there? A dessert – you *know* I’m going to make that. And soon. You can always bribe me with pie.

