The funny thing about these cookies is that they never actually made it to the intended recipient.

Remember when I had said that I was making cookies as part of a 2013 creative ‘Pay it Forward’? (If you have absolutely no idea what I’m talking about, catch yourself up here. Don’t worry I’ll be here when you get back.) Well these ginger snaps were made for my friend Katy. In my head I was 150% certain that she was going to be at a dinner party mutual friends were having. Turns out Katy was 151% certain that she was going to New York City for the weekend.

So… the cookies were made, they were photographed, eaten and enjoyed. Katy simply had no part in any of that. *Note to Katy – I do promise to get you a cookie at some point. It may even be a ginger cookie and be made by me. It could also be a single Oreo that I hand you and then proceed to eat the rest of the bag by myself. In one sitting. While you watch. *

Incase Katy gets tired of waiting for me to show up at her door with cookies – here is the recipe

IMG_0521

Ginger Cookies

1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
1 cup molasses
1 TBSP baking soda
3 1/2 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 TBSP ground ginger
1/2 TBSP grated fresh ginger
1/4 tsp salt

Melt butter and shortening together, put in a large bowl. Add molasses and baking soda. Stir to combine.

Add flour, sugar, buttermilk, ginger and salt. Stir until blended and becomes a dough.

Form dough into small balls. Place on cookie sheet with space in between. Bake 13 to 15 minutes at 350 degrees. If you prefer a crisper cookie (more like a ginger snap) press the ball of cookie dough out with the palm of your hand or a fork before baking.

