I’ve mentioned that I’m a world class procrastinator. Part of that is the uncanny ability to distract myself with anything.

Back in 1997 that ‘anything’ was the internet. Ooohhh baby that was amazing to a 13 year old kid in the country with nothing better to do. It was dial up, so it took forever, but waiting for things to load was part of the game.

During this time I would make myself some pretty simple things to eat. You know, typical kid crap. KD, grilled cheese and my favourite, which was an entire broccoli and cheddar rice side dish that I would just eat as a meal.

baking-soda

It was only a matter of time until one day I was making said meal, and also trying to chat/play on the net in the back room. This of course led to me burning about a 1/2 inch of butter, milk and rice to the bottom of one of our pots. Cue panic. What the hell was I going to do?? So I called my best friend – who’s Mom happened to be a Chef. I explained what I did and asked what I could do.

The answer was simple. Scrape out what you can – fill with water and add a few spoonfuls of baking soda. Put the pot back on the stove and let it heat up the water a bit. Not boiling but enough so that the warm water can start to break up the stuck on food.

Worked like a charm.

I use that trick all the time now on all my heavily caked on baking and cooking disasters.

Best part of all, baking soda is cheap. When you use as much of it as I do… that is a very good thing.

