recipes

I have a great view from my balcony. It is one of the main reasons I got this apartment… other reasons include it was in my prefered neighbourhood, wasn’t in a scary basement and allowed pets.

DSCN0046

 See – gorgeous, eh?? Though the hot air balloons only come out during the Hot Air Balloon festival once a year.

I plan on taking full advantage of both the view and what I’m hoping will be amazingly nice summer weather. Starting…. now. Now! Now?? Nnnnnnow!! Ok… soon. While I might be happy to call a gorgeous glass of red wine – dinner, not everyone is. So here is a really quick little bite that you can throw together quickly and get back to the sunshine! It is adapted from a wonderful cook book called “Around my French Table” by Dorie Greenspan – she calles it a Dieter’s Tartine.

IMG_0676

Dorie’s Dieter’s Tartine

Ingredients
Cottage Cheese
Baguette or nice bread you can cut into thick rounds
Tomato
Cucumber
Avocado
Salt
Pepper * For this I used a smoked pepper from The Salty Don – it’s just amazing. You can use regular pepper… but it’s worth seeking out this fantastically delish product.

1. Cut as many rounds of bread as you want to serve/eat. I find I’m stuffed with about 3 or 4 I’m in that phase where I eat like a bird (nature’s way of balancing when my mouth is like a black hole that all food is sucked into). Toast them either quickly on a griddle pan or in a toaster oven. One side will do – it’s just for texture.

2. Scoop out a tablespoon of cottage cheese for each bread round. Season it to taste with salt and pepper.

3. Cut the tomato, avocado and cucumber into a tiny little dice.

4. Spread the cheese on the bread and add the chopped veggies on top. Don’t worry if it spills over… if you have already started drinking before making the snacks it was bound to happen anyway.

5. Enjoy!

