recipes

It has been a long time since I have been a devoted subscriber to a magazine. Sure I buy them every now and then, but to trust that each month’s articles are going to be worthwhile… not since I was 10 with my National Geographic for Kids. Which, by the way, I’m still kind of bummed that I tossed out. Especially the month about optical illusions.

But in July I picked up a copy of Food and Wine in a doctor’s office. When I found myself wondering if anyone would miss it if it fell into my bad, I decided a subscription was in order.

It was great! And it actually inspired me to make these little babies. Apparently the future of steaks, is vegetable steaks. According to chef Joshua Lawler from The Farm and Fisherman in Phili, “Steak is boring, vegetable steak isn’t”.

It had never actually entered into my head to slice a thick piece of cauliflower, marinade and grill it like a steak. Not once. But I knew after reading about it that I had to try it.

IMG_0787

Also, I had for some reason thought I was going to eat a head of cauliflower all by myself and was quickly reminded how much that actually is to a person on their own.

Grilled Cauliflower Steaks
Makes one steak

1/4 cup olive oil
2 TBSP red wine or balsamic vinegar
1 TBSP Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp finely chopped capers
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp chili powder
salt and pepper
1 inch slice of Cauliflower, as if you were cutting a piece of bread from a round loaf

Season the cauliflower with salt and pepper as you would a piece of meat.

Combine all other ingredients in a bowl and pour over cauliflower steak. Allow to marinade for at least an hour.

Grill on medium heat, 5 minutes aside until desired consistency. Enjoy!

