Here is something you may not know about me, internet friends. When I am left alone to eat – it is disgusting. I eat quickly. And messily. Like a dog trying to scarf down something dead and decaying it found in a bush before you can get it out of his mouth. (That may have happened while walking Lemon one day… was my birthday last year if I remember correctly. Little guy just trying to get me a gift.)

I simply do not eat food when there is no one around to judge me. Half of me attempts to inhale large portions at once… while the other tries to absorb food that has landed on my face, neck, legs and hands through the skin. All the while just taking shots of the condiments straight from the container. I tell ya… there is something about soya sauce straight from the bottle.

It is quite a sight.

So believe me when I tell you that I’m practiced with the art of stain removal.

IMG_0784

I’m going to go ahead and guess melted butter from popc… no, no! A Bagel!

Here are a few things I’ve learned about how to get out tough stains.

1 – The sooner you realize that you have salsa all down the front of your dress, the better. Try to get to it as quickly as possible. If you don’t carry those little tide pens, try to keep the stain wet. It’s harder to get to once it sets. Should it dry, scrape off what you can before starting to clean.

2 – Pick the right drying method. After you wash the stained clothing, make sure you check the stain before you dry it. A drier, it can cause the stain to set, but if you put a little white vinegar or lemon juice on it and dry the item in direct sunlight it can cause it to fade. Keep in mind, fading might not be what you want with a dark coloured pair of jeans. At the very least, give it one more go with a stain fighter and some extra detergent before drying it.

3 – Dish soap does wonders for grease spots. Little melted butter or olive oil doesn’t stand a chance with a bit of dishwashing liquid. I have used it as a pre-treater before throwing the clothes in the washer, have also used it to spot clean my shirt. Depends which meal I have just dribbled down the front of my shirt and how much time I have to change.

IMG_0790

So happy it is clean again! Heaven forbid I have to start wearing a bib.

4 – Do not use soap on sticky fruit stains. It can actually do more harm than good. In this case look for detergent, an enzyme presoak product is perfect in the warmest water approved for the type of fabric. If you don’t get all the sugar out, it can leave a brown stain as it caramelizes with the heat from an iron or the drier.

5 – For tomato based sauce stains (pretty much 75% of my stains), soak in cool water with 1/2 tsp dishwashing liquid and 1 TBSP vinegar for 30 minutes. Rinse. If it is still there rub a little bit of laundry detergent on the spot and let sit for 10 minutes before throwing it in with the rest of your laundry.

Which food stain gives you the most trouble?

