I’m so excited that there is only week left until my vacation. I’m not normally one of these people who feels the need to unplug, and I’m not even sure that I will on this time off… but I like having an excuse not to get back to messages right away. I’m pretty easy to please really. Let the countdown begin!

Café – a coffeehouse or restaurant which is often small and unfussy. Also French for coffee.

Slump – another word for cobbler, a cooked fruit dessert topped with biscuit dough.

Espagnole – the French word for Spanish and refers to a simple brown sauce (a mother sauce) with a roux to which veal stock is added.

Glogg – a Sweedish word for a hot punch of brandy, red wine and sherry flavoured with fruit pieces.

Cream of Tartar – a natural compound in grapes. It is a by-product of wine fermentation and used as a leavener and is added to baking soda to make baking powder.

Pancake – a flat cake of thin batter fried on both sides of the griddle.

Spit – a skewer for holding meat over a fire.

unitatoAll awesome.

And for those of you stuck in front of a computer on this sunny, gorgeous fallish day – here are some foodie fun things to look at to pass the time.

Tips for preserving herbs on Constantly Cooking!

Another month of recipes needs your votes in the Great Cream Challenge! Breakfast Bread Pudding?? Yum!

20 Ugly foods that are good for you!

 

You have to check out Whoops I Got Wasted – a great new web series that teaches you how to make simple easy food for when your body needs good things in it to combat your night out the night before.

 

