spices

There is something missing in Ottawa. For the longest time I couldn’t put my finger on it… then suddenly it hit me. We need a really fabulous Spice Shop. Somewhere that carries hundreds of varieties of herbs, spices and salts with wonderful staff that knows everything there is to know about their products and is willing to help you.

That last part is the kicker. I don’t know if you have every had this happen, but it was sadly routine for me while searching out flavourings in this city. You know what you need – the recipe told you – but it’s hard to find. Impossible even. After the 3rd or 4th store you try – you finally find it. Not much thanks to the surly staff member who simply pointed at an aisle and said “should be down there if we have it”. You take your purchase home, none the wiser about its potential beyond that one dish you are attempting.

I want to change all that.

I have a dream to open Ottawa’s premiere spice shop – I’m calling it Cardamom and Cloves. This is my baby.

But it takes a village to raise a child. So I’m asking for your help. There are so many things you can do to make this dream a reality right from the comfort of in front of your screen.

spice

1. Follow Cardamom and Cloves on Facebook and twitter!

2. Tell me about your favourite spices, herbs, blends, brands. Anything that knocks your flavour socks off – I want to know about! Maybe it was a dish you tried while travelling. Maybe it’s just something you read about recently – either way let me know!! You can comment here, or shoot me an email cardamomandcloves@live.ca

3. This is a biggie. You can contribute to my Indiegogo campaign. Not only will you get to light up my life – but you give me the chance to get some really amazing products into your hands. It’s very simple to do – just click here to get started. The more we can raise, the less I need to borrow, the better chance this has of succeeding. Can’t contribute financially?? Just spread the word! Many hands make light and fluffy work.

I’m so excited to finally start getting the word out. And I’m looking forward to opening in Spring 2014 – see you there!!

 

 

