recipes

I love pumpkin pie. It’s right up there with apple as pie’s of my youth that I adore. However, as someone who lives alone I have a couple of options when it comes to filling my craving for the sweet fall treat.

1. I can make said pie and then eat the whole thing. I would be ecstatically happy – but then the knowledge that I just ate a whole pie by myself comes in and I’m less happy. Probably because I ate it all in one sitting… and because I made two pies. Both of which are gone.

2. I can make said pies, then bring them into work and force them on my co-workers, people on the street and any poor soul who happens to be walking past me. You haven’t seen fear until you look into the eyes of someone who doesn’t know you or why you would be offering them a slice of pumpkin pie at 8:30 in the morning at a bus stop on Rideau Street. Even though you promised it wasn’t poisoned. Not sure why I even brought up that possibility.

3. You can make my pumpkin pie pudding. It’s just like eating the filling of a pumpkin pie, but there is a lot less fat because there is no pie crust. You can tell yourself that as you eat the whole bowl.

IMG_0361

I suggest option 3.

Pumpkin Pie Pudding

Vanilla pudding – it can be the instant kind but I’d go with the full fat and just use skim milk (the sweetness of the light version is weird to me… but that’s just my opinion, both work)

1 can pumpkin puree
Pumpkin Pie Spice
Brown Sugar

Ok…. this is stupidly simple. Mix about 1/4 of the can of pumpkin puree into the vanilla pudding and add pie spice and brown sugar to taste. I could give you the exact measurements but then you would just be making it to taste like my mom’s. Which is amazing, but you know everyone has their own opinions.

That’s it. Pudding that tastes like pie. Amazing.

If you really want to be a fancy pants, break up some ginger cookies and add a layer of them topped with pudding then some whipped cream. Repeat for a kick ass parfait.

