A couple weeks ago I got the amazing opportunity to once again visit some farms around Ottawa and learn where my food comes from – not to mention sample some! It was a fantastic day filled with dairy cows, robots, my first visit to Kemptville and The Branch Restaurant, apples, tractor rides and Corbin – the world’s cutest farm dog. Seriously… don’t even bother reading this just skip to the pictures of Corbin. Thanks so much to Food and Farm Care Ontario for arranging all of this!

calf

Little bottle fed calves just looking for a snack – sorry buddy… that’s my hand

IMG_0308

Having all my questions about milk, dairies and cows answered on the Fraser family farm.

IMG_0309

Corbin – world’s cutest farm dog

IMG_0314

Notice all the collars on each cow – this lets the robotic milker identify each cow as she enters the pen, and depending on if it is time for her to be milked again, either starts the process or has her leave.

IMG_0315

Corbin giving one of the ladies some love.

IMG_0323

Only 2 days old and cute as a button – check out those knobby knees!!

IMG_0325

Making sure I get her good side

IMG_0331

Has the ‘milk’ logo ever changed??

IMG_0339

Milk leads to cheese which leads to lunch – a logical progression!

IMG_0347

Next farm stop was Mountain Apple Orchard – a pick your own spot. Very different business model than the ones my uncles used growing up.

IMG_0348

I hadn’t realized that they prune the trees to train them to grow like this – makes getting to all the fruit easier.

IMG_0349

IMG_0350

I asked to drive, but apparently their insurance doesn’t cover it. Boo.

