The other day I watched a documentary called DIVE! About dumpster divers and food waste in the United States. Here is the trailer –

 

I know it happens, but I’m still shocked at the amount of food waste in our world. With so many hungry people, it just seems unthinkable that we are tossing perfectly edible food. This is a really good look at exactly what dumpster diving is all about, or the Freegan movement (Freegan – a person who rejects consumerism and seeks to help the environment by reducing waste, especially by retrieving and using discarded food and other goods.)

But I still can’t get my head around eating food that has been in a dumpster. Once it’s in there, it’s trash. I mean, you have no idea why it is in there in the first place. I’m sure you can guess – but do you know the real reason?? And who knows how long that meat has been sitting there. Guesses are great, and if you cook it to the right temperature you are most likely getting rid of MOST of the food born illness possibilities.

Every time I think about dumpster diving all I can think about is this sketch from Portlandia:

 

My solution – let’s not put it in the trash! If you have  that much food, let’s give it away. Shelters and loads of hungry people would be thrilled to get food that is a day before it’s “Best Before Date” … not inedible. Nothing wrong, just not the quality that the store is willing to sell. Honestly, I’m willing to eat any of it… until the moment it gets put in the dumpster. Then the idea of it makes my stomach cringe with worry of potential parasites.

I guess it all comes down to this scenario. You see an éclair with a bite taken out of it sitting on a piece of paper in the garbage can on top of a stack of newspapers. Do you eat it?? George C0stanza would. But I think I’ll pass.

george

